Silvia Club of NSW

Why drive when you can drift?
It is currently Fri Nov 16, 2018 2:43 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: New to silvia's
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2012 4:05 pm 
Offline
T25
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 7:38 pm
Posts: 18
Car: 1995 s14
Real Name: Chris
Hi, I just purchased my first silvia but definately not the last.. Its a series 1 S14, I got it with a blown motor so ive fitted a good low km motor and gearbox from an S15 (aus spec, so no roller turbo). Ive fitted a 300lph fuel pump and a malpassi fuel reg, 3inch turbo back exhaust and front mount, dual stage boost controller and BOV.. I havent done a dyno run yet but would like to. I am thinking of getting cams, either a nistune ECU or go haltech (or something similar) and later on upgrading the turbo.. I am currently running 15psi on the high side and 9 on the low. I have been told 15 is too high, i have an a/f ratio gauge which shows its rich on boost so i know fuel isnt an issue and it seems to handle it, any thoughts? I am only new to owning a silvia but have some knowledge on turbos and engine workings. If ive posted this in the wrong place, my apologies as i am only new to this forum. Looking forward to some feedback. Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New to silvia's
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2012 8:59 pm 
Offline
T25
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:00 pm
Posts: 17
Car: Kouki S14a
Real Name: Nate
Welcome,

Do you have any pics?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New to silvia's
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2012 11:20 pm 
Offline
Admin Team
Admin Team

Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2001 11:00 am
Posts: 5996
Location: In front of some computational device :P
Car: 2012 Golf TSI... least its boosted!
Real Name: Martin
Welcome and congrats on the purchase.

Personally I don't think 15psi isn't too high, unless your running lean, not tuned properly or have other issues, but if you have a high/low option, I would run 9psi most of the time and switch to 15psi when you really want it :)

I personally ran 12-14psi most of the time in my daily driver S13 SR20DET a few years back, it was running rich and didn't have a problem at all.

_________________
Co-Founder, President & Webmaster
mayhem@silviansw.com - www.silviansw.com
Why drive when you can drift?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New to silvia's
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2012 7:30 pm 
Offline
T25
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 7:38 pm
Posts: 18
Car: 1995 s14
Real Name: Chris
Thanks!! I dont have pics as yet but will post some up soon, it shows rich on the air/fuel ratio meter so i think its safe for now.. i have been running 9 as a daily and 15 to have a bit of a play. i think a larger turbo is on the cards atm though.. and possibly a haltech.. might have to start saving, i'd like to put about 280kw atw..


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New to silvia's
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2012 9:16 pm 
Offline
Twin T78
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2003 3:36 pm
Posts: 1435
Location: Sydney
Car: 1993 180SX
Real Name: Daniel
No need for haltech mate - nistune is a great option, and if you really want aftermarket, try a power fc.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New to silvia's
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2012 11:10 pm 
Offline
Admin Team
Admin Team

Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2001 11:00 am
Posts: 5996
Location: In front of some computational device :P
Car: 2012 Golf TSI... least its boosted!
Real Name: Martin
+1 for PowerFC in a 13/14/15, lots of cars running around with them, affordable, hand controller, get Uni Group to tune it for you.

280rwkw is not a cheap target though!

Personally most I have seen is approx 250rwkw out of an S14 running and S15 engine similar to what your starting out with.

_________________
Co-Founder, President & Webmaster
mayhem@silviansw.com - www.silviansw.com
Why drive when you can drift?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New to silvia's
PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2012 4:39 pm 
Offline
T25
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 7:38 pm
Posts: 18
Car: 1995 s14
Real Name: Chris
Thanks for help guys!! Definitely given me some food for thought.. I have a technical question also, hoping i might be able to get the answer here.. if not ill repost in the technical area..
As i have a S1 S14 running S15 engine and box i have no speedo atm, I have just been told the speedo signal is the same signal off the ABS sensor on the S15, as i have an ABS sensor, theoretically i should be able to connect up the required wired to get a speedo signal.. and thoughts? Thanks in advance!!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New to silvia's
PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2012 7:24 pm 
Offline
Takumi
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2002 11:00 am
Posts: 4779
Location: building!
Car: Silvia
unfortunately not, the S15's speed comes from the ABS computer. The actual sensors give a different output pulse rate so you can't use them directly.
It is possible to make up a converter to do it, but it's a bit of a hack.

_________________
The Engine Whisperer - fixer of things


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New to silvia's
PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2012 11:49 pm 
Offline
Twin T04
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2002 9:57 pm
Posts: 930
Location: Funky Town
Car: 92 Silvia Q, 93 180sx
I _think_ my brother (the other half of this account) still has the one he designed and made to run an s13 cluster off an abs sensor, ill ask if hes got the diagram still. We did run the whole thing off an abs sensor but yeah it was far from perfect. In the end the gearbox blew so he went back to 5 speed.

_________________
[≡≡≡≡≡] \silvia/ [≡≡≡≡≡]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New to silvia's
PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2012 1:08 pm 
Offline
T25
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 7:38 pm
Posts: 18
Car: 1995 s14
Real Name: Chris
Hey guys, thanks for the speedy replies. I have done some research and found the same thing that the S15 run off the abs sensor and a signal changer is required.
CraZeeE - If you could find that, that would be awesome.
Ive had a look at the box and it has the provision for a speedo transducer to go in but there is no gear inside. So i would need to get a gear and transducer and connect it up. Im thinking that might be a good option as i have to pull the box out anyway to change the thrust bearing.

Thanks again guys!!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New to silvia's
PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2012 6:29 pm 
Offline
Takumi
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2002 11:00 am
Posts: 4779
Location: building!
Car: Silvia
if you can install the gear that would be the best option, but most of the S15 boxes don't have the hole machined for the speed sensor.

_________________
The Engine Whisperer - fixer of things


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New to silvia's
PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 11:29 am 
Offline
Twin T04
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2002 9:57 pm
Posts: 930
Location: Funky Town
Car: 92 Silvia Q, 93 180sx
I think theres a wheel on the output shaft as well that turns the sensor wheel, or triggers it. which means you gotta open the box anyway. If youre serious about 280rwkw then you might want to consider another box anyway...be it 5 speed/rb25 or other.....

_________________
[≡≡≡≡≡] \silvia/ [≡≡≡≡≡]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group