Silvia Club of NSW

Why drive when you can drift?
It is currently Wed Apr 24, 2024 5:07 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 4:40 am 
T25

Car: Celica
Hi noob here just checking in, Can anyone convert me to buying on of these as my celica's getting a bit boring now and I was wondering also which is better s14 or s14a I quite like the s14 (pre face lift) but is there any difference between them? can anyone tell me what they handle like? how cheap are parts (original and aftermarket) to buy and how readily avaliable they are, and how easily are they to modify and maintain, thanks

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 8:32 am 
SilviaNSW Supporter
SilviaNSW Supporter

>> which is better s14 or s14a I quite like the s14 (pre face lift) but is there any difference between them?

The S14A is just a cosmetic upgrade on the S14

?? can anyone tell me what they handle like?

It depends how you drive it and how silly the old owner was. If you don't know what you're doing (or if the car has been sey up badly), you will understeer everywhere. In the hands of someone reasonably competent, they are a fantastic car, even with standard suspension. Coilovers are highly recommended though.

>> how cheap are parts (original and aftermarket) to buy and how readily avaliable they are,

As you'd expect, original parts from Nissan aren't cheap, but second hand parts are readily available on the forums for next to nothing. Aftermarket parts are also relatively cheap and readily available because of how popular the silvia is.

>> and how easily are they to modify and maintain, thanks

Maintenance is the same as pretty much any other car. Do the oil and filter every 5000km, gearbox oil, diff oil, coolant and filter every now and then.

Modifications are relatively easy and there is a wealth of information about them on this site.

Just don't jam massive chromies on it or rev it too hard when it's cold and you're golden.

Post subject: