Silvia Club of NSW

Why drive when you can drift?
It is currently Sun Jun 24, 2018 8:17 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 33 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Windows Vista sucks @55
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2007 9:27 pm 
Offline
T66
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 3:40 am
Posts: 447
Location: Wattle Grove, Sydney
Car: none
How do you guys find windows vista?
A few months ago I bought a new HP desktop.
The package cost me nearly 3grand. Didnt mind paying it because I wanted quality, seeing as i live on my comp when I'm at home.

Thing is, it just randomly stops responding and freezes. No blue screen, cant press ctrl-alt-del, cant even move the mouse. I need to hold the power button down when it happens to reset it. I hate doing that! It has happened from day one and is really starting to bug me.

Does this happen to anyone else?
Does anyone know of any fix?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2007 9:33 pm 
Offline
Overlord
Overlord
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2002 11:00 am
Posts: 4360
Location: Leading
Car: DeathWagon + Sil80 + Nugget
Your computer has a bug. Its name is Vista.

Rollback to XP :)

_________________
Disclaimer: I actually DO know everything

Sil80 - SR20DET 231rwkw
Silvia Race Nugget - SR20DET 225rwkw
Stagea - DeathWagon - RB25DET 185rwkw.

My Lame Gallery: http://www.toomuchboost.com/gallery/main.php


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2007 9:33 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2003 10:19 pm
Posts: 16498
Car: Skoda Octavia RS
Real Name: Iain
ive been runing vista since RC2 on my desktop

ive got it running on 4 different laptops, one in a 'managed' environment.

to be honest the one from work in the 'managed' environment is the most unstable. i dont have problems with mine, my wifes, her sisters or my destop machines.

make suer you do all your windows updates and get an anti virus program installed. there are free ones, personally i like avast

_________________
M35 Stagea.info @ http://www.m35stagea.info/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2007 10:21 pm 
Offline
T66
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 3:40 am
Posts: 447
Location: Wattle Grove, Sydney
Car: none
I am running norton.
As for updates, i dont bother with that, isnt it supposed to do it automatically?
Come to think of it, i havent seen it update for a while so I'll check on that.

How about playin video? I find that if i try to view a xvid or divx file through media player it crashes. What codecs do you use?
I think it may have alot to do with that as it happens most often when watching episodes of SVU and scrubs.
Ive installed the Gordian Knot Codec pack which works fine on my xp laptop, but cant play the xvid files. They only work using Divx Player :x


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2007 10:58 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2003 10:19 pm
Posts: 16498
Car: Skoda Octavia RS
Real Name: Iain
get rid of norton

ALL of it

i get codecs from divx.com and i dont have problems. then again i use XBMC on my XBOX so i dont always watch stuff on my PC

_________________
M35 Stagea.info @ http://www.m35stagea.info/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2007 11:08 pm 
Offline
T66
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 3:40 am
Posts: 447
Location: Wattle Grove, Sydney
Car: none
I just checked my windows updates.
Last update done at 2.56pm today.
But there were 17 available updates. They werent installed cos 4 of them were "reccommended" and 13 were optional. 117mb all up.

In the "reccomended" pile were updates for my motherboard and video card drivers. I just naturally thought those would be updated automatically. I view them as important updates, but I guess others may feel differently.

Hopefully the updates improve my systems performance.

If it doesnt help i'll can norton and see how it goes (Which is gonna be painful cos i feel i paid to much for it)

Does anyone know of any Xvid codecs that work with media player?

Oh well, gonna reboot now, fingers crossed. Wish me luck


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2007 12:29 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2003 10:19 pm
Posts: 16498
Car: Skoda Octavia RS
Real Name: Iain
no only critical updates are installed automatically

i perfer drivers to be optional, i myself download them from the manufacturer and dont get the MS update ones. but thats me

www.divx.com will have exactly what you need, xvid included. ive never had a problem with them, and the auto update (for the codecs) comes in handy too!

_________________
M35 Stagea.info @ http://www.m35stagea.info/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2007 12:35 am 
Offline
T66
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 3:40 am
Posts: 447
Location: Wattle Grove, Sydney
Car: none
after windows update updated my video drivers they seem to play now.
nvidia was pretty slack with developing and releasing a decent vista driver. alot of games i had, had issues. I even returned one to EB due to that.

Im on the mailing list on the nvidia website, wonder why i wasnt notified bout the new driver.

Hopefully it will fix my crashing issue also.
We'll see how it goes and report back in case anyone has the same issues.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2007 4:36 am 
Offline
T51

Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 8:05 pm
Posts: 333
Car: S13 Silvia, King Spec :P
I have actually been surprised with Vista, hasnt given me too much grief *knock on wood*

as for your media player problem, use VLC player it is #1!


find that windows that comes with computer packages (like your hp), regardless of which version, are always unstable


best of luck with your battle!


eddie


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2007 2:03 pm 
Offline
T66
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 3:40 am
Posts: 447
Location: Wattle Grove, Sydney
Car: none
well it seems to have fixed it.
I always suspected my video card driver needed updating, but was too lazy to check it out myself, thinking automatic updates would take care of it.

That thing about vista sucking @55 i completely take back. I really like vista! I always have. Better than XP. Just the crashing was bugging me. lol, I would rather deal with an unstable system then downgrade to xp.

I was a bit skeptical on wether i should upgrade to vista on my laptop, but if the system remains stable over the next week, i will definately upgrade.

Zei, do you have any problems with vista on any of your laptops?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2007 2:07 pm 
Offline
T66
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 3:40 am
Posts: 447
Location: Wattle Grove, Sydney
Car: none
eddied wrote:
I have actually been surprised with Vista, hasnt given me too much grief *knock on wood*

as for your media player problem, use VLC player it is #1!


find that windows that comes with computer packages (like your hp), regardless of which version, are always unstable


best of luck with your battle!


eddie


I actually do have VLC player! It is a brilliant piece of software. And is also available for free. If i ever have any problems viewing a vid, it usually does the trick.
Although I havent had any problems since nvidia released a new vista driver for my graphics card


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:32 pm 
Offline
Twin T66
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 7:15 pm
Posts: 1288
Car: 1990 Nissan Silvia
You have 2 problems.
1 is your running vista
2 Zei isnt seriously complaining about something for once :lol:



The Random freezing in vista is usaully cuased by 2 things ,a bug in the memory management of vista, also known as steadystate i believe, the management services of vista where radically redeveloped and taken a step back in the advancing tech to match its optional use on flash drives. The other is software or hardware, your RAM could be faulty, causing curruption, your computer could be overheating Best bet, look for a program on the net called Memtest86. Software related. It could be also it's a HP, HP's are shit. nothing beats custom made desktops you build yourself. If you have nothing really of worth onit, just go into safe mode and do a factory restore.

blake..

To fix it you need to disable the steadystate services all together.

_________________
tehyoungone wrote:
I'm 14 and i can spell better than most of you guys


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2007 11:53 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2003 10:19 pm
Posts: 16498
Car: Skoda Octavia RS
Real Name: Iain
i think you mean readyboost

im running readyboost built in on 2 of my laptops, and via a USB drive on my desktop

id be checking hardware drivers and BIOS version to make sure they are ALL up to date. dont always rely on windows update, i think i said before, go to the manufactures website and get the drivers for your machine.

my work hp is very reliable, IE crashes but i know its because of a D-Link IP camera we have that isnt 100% compatible, but dlink are working on it.

i dunno why so many people complain, the EXACT same thing happened when XP came out. now SP2 needs 134 hotfixes to get it as secure as possible and more stable.

_________________
M35 Stagea.info @ http://www.m35stagea.info/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 1:56 pm 
Offline
T28
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 8:46 am
Posts: 41
Location: Sydney, NSW
Car: S13 Silvia
ZEi20T wrote:
i think you mean readyboost

im running readyboost built in on 2 of my laptops, and via a USB drive on my desktop

id be checking hardware drivers and BIOS version to make sure they are ALL up to date. dont always rely on windows update, i think i said before, go to the manufactures website and get the drivers for your machine.

my work hp is very reliable, IE crashes but i know its because of a D-Link IP camera we have that isnt 100% compatible, but dlink are working on it.

i dunno why so many people complain, the EXACT same thing happened when XP came out. now SP2 needs 134 hotfixes to get it as secure as possible and more stable.


People quickly forget the way XP was when first released, its always the case - It is also more the device manufacturers responsibility to create compatible drivers, then it is M$'s to create 100% backward compatible systems......

I setup vista on my parents, sisters and brother in laws machines as well as my work tablet (with my own builds) and none of them have any issues at all.

If you are running the OEM build then that is your no.1 problem.... blast it away, learn how to tweak the OS and make your own build. If you do it all right then you will have little to no problems at all.

_________________
××פ £üĉïü§ ¤×××


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 3:36 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2003 10:19 pm
Posts: 16498
Car: Skoda Octavia RS
Real Name: Iain
actually thats a good point!

i ALWAYS re-install a fresh copy, when i get a new machine, with the latest drivers at the time, and yeah never had problems.

i think the initial builds supplied with machines suck ass

_________________
M35 Stagea.info @ http://www.m35stagea.info/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 33 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group