Silvia Club of NSW

Why drive when you can drift?
It is currently Thu Jun 21, 2018 5:47 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: pioneer whining noise
PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 12:30 am 
Offline
T28 Hybrid

Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 11:52 pm
Posts: 94
Car: 180sx
this is for anyone who had problems with their audio system with pioneer head unit! and had whining problem as they start up the car and accelerated.


i spent months on this and bought ground loop crap and stuff. but now have solve it with help from endless forum reading lol. so anyone else who has encountered this problem can use this method if they blew their rca ground micro fuse. By not turning off the head unit before pulling out the rcas.


Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 9:39 am 
Offline
T88 Hybrid

Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 1:00 pm
Posts: 884
Car: ..
..


Last edited by YK51RF on Tue Feb 15, 2011 5:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2008 5:53 pm 
Offline
Banned
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2007 11:11 pm
Posts: 54
Car: s15
i had the same problem, its got 2 do with the rac cables, and power cables.... i ran them 2gether along the side of the car and got the noise once i seperated them its was perfect


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2008 10:08 pm 
Offline
TO4

Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 3:37 am
Posts: 241
Car: none
Hey I should try this on my car. My Alpine headunit made the whirring sound when I first fitted my amp and splits up front. Although I killed most of the whirring sound by setting the gains on my amp correctly, although I can still hear a quiet whirring when I boot it past 4500rpm.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2008 10:26 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2003 11:21 pm
Posts: 5731
Location: Sydney
Car: WGNC34,S14,AE86
What is that looping of speaker wire around the chassis going to achieve,other than adding weight and giving you something to do for 5min?

if you have noise in the system,you have earth problems. try a different location for the headunit and amp earth wires,and separate the power AND earth cables as much as possible from your RCA cables.

using quality connectors and cable makes a difference also.


Justin...

_________________
STI - Made in Texas,not Japan.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2008 2:21 am 
Offline
T28 Hybrid

Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 11:52 pm
Posts: 94
Car: 180sx
speaking wire loopin? so you can ground the rca to the chassis of the head unit?

weight??? lol... ok...


of course most install with whinning is by bad grounding.

but as i said. this is only a fix if you have blown ur rca grounding in ur pioneer head unit. for there is a fuse to ground it inside the head unit and near impossible to replace. only know one American place that does it for 70 bucks US and you have to ship it there and back. and even if you had the perfect grounding and ran wire you still have noise.
THIS is a head unit problem not a grounding problem. unless you gonna rip your rca apart and actually ground it yourself!



Try different location for head unit?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2008 8:02 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2003 11:21 pm
Posts: 5731
Location: Sydney
Car: WGNC34,S14,AE86
Buy a better head unit in the first place?

I've never seen a fuse on an earth before either. as for the extra weight comment,that was hinting at how ludicrous the whole thing is...
Care to post a link for where you got the idea for this? since you're so adamant that it works..

I'm glad you've found a fix for your obscure problem. I doubt anyone else will suffer from it,but if they do,at least they can try your solution before they go and buy another deck.



Justin...

_________________
STI - Made in Texas,not Japan.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2008 3:10 pm 
Offline
T28 Hybrid

Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 11:52 pm
Posts: 94
Car: 180sx
pioneer is sufficient enough for a head unit. and i do have the 5750mp. which is regarded a good middle range unit. and yes i bought it brand new when it was 500 bucks. first install no problem, 2nd install encountered the problem. found solution when i installed it in my ride now.


http://forum.sounddomain.com/ubbthreads.php/ubb/showflat/Number/408954/page/1/fpart/2http://forum.sounddomain.com/ubbthreads.php/ubb/showflat/Number/408954/page/1/fpart/2

here is a link to the actual problem


the solution to the problem with i cant find the link again. but there is a description there

i spent alot of time on this problem. testing diff units. ensuring my grounds were perfect. even ran ground from head unit direct to battery and so forth. try different amps.. the works.. so i put this up hoping it can help someone else coz i accidentally came over the solution after many forum searches. so i thought it be nice as my first contribution to this site to give abit info then just go asking noob shit like where my turbo... is it ok if i run without a bov. coz i want flutterz.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2008 7:30 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2003 11:21 pm
Posts: 5731
Location: Sydney
Car: WGNC34,S14,AE86
fair enough,and good on you for trying to contribute something more than most new members do.

I've just had a read through the link you've posted,and after that,I reckon it's sealed my previous opinion of pioneer decks. I'll never be buying one.

if I was in your position I'd be cracking the unit open and looking for the fuse to replace or bridge out rather than wiring up my RCA cables. fix the problem at the source rather than band-aiding it.


Justin...

_________________
STI - Made in Texas,not Japan.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group