Silvia Club of NSW

Why drive when you can drift?
It is currently Sun Jun 24, 2018 8:27 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 4:57 pm 
Offline
T78 Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2004 8:52 pm
Posts: 651
Location: Far South Coast
Car: R32 Skyline 4 door
Im going to buy more memory for my phone and aswell as this...
Image

The above will allow me to connect my phone directly to a home stereo through the rca's so I can play songs.

My question is, will this work through a car cd player?

_________________
When I grow up I wanna win the lotto...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 4:58 pm 
Offline
T51

Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 8:05 pm
Posts: 333
Car: S13 Silvia, King Spec :P
assuming your head unit has rca input should work



eddie


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 5:00 pm 
Offline
T78 Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2004 8:52 pm
Posts: 651
Location: Far South Coast
Car: R32 Skyline 4 door
Input just like the ones you use for amps?

EDIT: or is that out put? :-?

_________________
When I grow up I wanna win the lotto...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 5:47 pm 
Offline
T66
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2005 12:49 pm
Posts: 434
Location: North Shore
Car: Black S15 Spec R '01
if you want to use it as an ipod through the stereo, isnt it usually a 3.5mm jack input?? or maybe its different for your head unit.

the head unit that im gonna put in looks like a 3.5mm jack. i think you would be able to connect anything to it with the right cables. im gonna try connecting a PSP...

_________________
I have left my signature blank because i cannot think of anything to put here.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 6:34 pm 
Offline
T04 Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2003 9:27 am
Posts: 270
Location: Newcastle
Car: 1993 White (Pearl) 180sx
Some head units have a 3.5mm input jack at the front - if so, using this is probably easier. Connect a 3.5mm to 3.5mm cord from the headphones output on your iPod to the front input - leaving your volume around 80-90% for best performance.

Otherwise, your head unit may have RCA inputs at the rear - using that cable should work perfectly OK.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 7:39 pm 
Offline
T78 Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2004 8:52 pm
Posts: 651
Location: Far South Coast
Car: R32 Skyline 4 door
Basically i want to use the rca's from my phone directly to my headunit.
So if were to simply connect via an rca just like you would with a amplifier it should all work?

_________________
When I grow up I wanna win the lotto...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 7:49 pm 
Offline
T03
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 4:54 pm
Posts: 136
Location: Sydney City.
Car: S12
If you don't have RCA input you can get a 3.5mm -> RCA plug from jaycar for around 2 bucks.

edit: of course, your headunit has to have an auxillary input, which is what you seem to be trying to feel out for.

Just wanted to add that when I hooked up a mates nokia for him the first time it rang when listening to music at a relatively high volume we both almost shat dacks! =)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 11:53 am 
Offline
T78 Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2004 8:52 pm
Posts: 651
Location: Far South Coast
Car: R32 Skyline 4 door
Cheers man, will watch out for super high db ring, lol...

_________________
When I grow up I wanna win the lotto...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 12:53 pm 
Offline
Twin T78
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2003 3:36 pm
Posts: 1435
Location: Sydney
Car: 1993 180SX
Real Name: Daniel
JC wrote:
Basically i want to use the rca's from my phone directly to my headunit.
So if were to simply connect via an rca just like you would with a amplifier it should all work?


no - that won't work. the RCA's used for amps are outputs, not inputs.

you need a specific "aux-in" or "input" RCA set for what you want to do to work.

if you don't have that, and there is no 3.5mm headphone socket/jack, then you can't do what you're suggesting.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2008 5:01 pm 
Offline
T78 Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2004 8:52 pm
Posts: 651
Location: Far South Coast
Car: R32 Skyline 4 door
Thanks for the info.. :)

_________________
When I grow up I wanna win the lotto...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2008 4:23 pm 
Offline
T03

Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 9:11 pm
Posts: 117
Car: s14
if your headunit has an aux-in, there are sony ericsoon headphones with the 3.5 extension so that will work.

there are also fm transmitters, and so on..


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2008 9:28 am 
Offline
Twin T51
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 4:39 pm
Posts: 1011
Location: At your house =P
Car: 180sx RB26DETT
the N95 comes with that cable in the box.... you need a single jack converter so from RCA to jack

_________________
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 1:32 am 
Offline
T25

Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 12:43 am
Posts: 2
Car: none yet
if all else fails pick up one of those fm transmitters for your ipod.
Sounds will not be great but you can use it in any car.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 10:25 am 
Offline
T28 Hybrid

Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 5:44 pm
Posts: 83
Car: '97 180sx Type X
If you must use an FM transmitter get one the of the 12v ones that connect to your cig lighter socket. in my experience they are much better quality than battery powered transmitters.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group