Silvia Club of NSW

Why drive when you can drift?
It is currently Tue Feb 20, 2018 6:49 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 56 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 4:09 pm 
Offline
T66

Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2007 2:16 am
Posts: 430
Car: granpa's jz83 cressida
so can you run a s1 pfc on a s2 s14?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 4:58 pm 
Offline
T66
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 10:42 am
Posts: 404
Location: Melb/Syd
Car: 180sx
fergo308 wrote:
if you're running an S14 S1 loom,the FC bolts straight in,and works out of the box.

if it's S2,you need to swap around the fuel pump pins,and something else that I can't remember atm.


Justin...


I'm speaking about the wiring differences between Aus spec and jap spec.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 6:35 pm 
Offline
Quad T78
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 9:43 pm
Posts: 3124
Location: Sydeny
Car: S14a
Mr Bean wrote:
so can you run a s1 pfc on a s2 s14?
I belive some of the sensors are different and that the wireing is different at the ECU, not 100% about it.

Liz wrote:
I'm speaking about the wiring differences between Aus spec and jap spec.
I PM'ed you a link on how to do it and i did the wireing swap on my car when i put in the Power FC, Let me know if you need that info again.

_________________
Disclaimer: If you have'nt worked it out by now I CANT SPELL FOR SHIT.
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 7:07 pm 
Offline
T66
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 10:42 am
Posts: 404
Location: Melb/Syd
Car: 180sx
yeah i remember! I just haven't read it yet!!!!

I think I saved the link, but I'll let you know!

oh i'm excited!!!!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 8:24 pm 
Offline
Admin Team
Admin Team
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2003 3:27 pm
Posts: 3870
Location: here
Car: Hello Kitty!
this means you'll be ready for autosports chrissy track day!

It's nice to see someone accept good advice. Paul, take note of how its done!

_________________
meh


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 01, 2007 7:26 pm 
Offline
T66
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 10:42 am
Posts: 404
Location: Melb/Syd
Car: 180sx
maybe maybe!

hopefully you'll notice my new goodies instead of just saying "nice rims y0"

lol

I'll let you know how i go!

Liz.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 01, 2007 7:29 pm 
Offline
Admin Team
Admin Team
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2003 3:27 pm
Posts: 3870
Location: here
Car: Hello Kitty!
as long as i don't have to say: It's getting towed again?!?

_________________
meh


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 01, 2007 8:33 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2003 11:21 pm
Posts: 5731
Location: Sydney
Car: WGNC34,S14,AE86
Liz wrote:
fergo308 wrote:
if you're running an S14 S1 loom,the FC bolts straight in,and works out of the box.

if it's S2,you need to swap around the fuel pump pins,and something else that I can't remember atm.


Justin...


I'm speaking about the wiring differences between Aus spec and jap spec.


I know. if you have a S1 loom,jap spec and aus spec are the same. if you have S2,they're different,hence the need to change pins over.


Justin...

_________________
STI - Made in Texas,not Japan.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 2:17 pm 
Offline
T03 Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 9:16 pm
Posts: 158
Car: S14A
i would have thought a MAP based tune would be just as good as AFM one, you have manifold pressure, tps, water and intake temp. so the computer knows when anything varies, and can adjust accordingly.

is the AFM better becasue it more accuratly reads the flow of air ? wouldnt the MAP be just as good if set up correctly ?

edit:
i dont under stand how the load sensing is anyless accurate, afm accuratly measures airflow but what about all the other variables ?

_________________
"Best Signature Ever Inserted Here"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 2:54 pm 
Offline
Takumi
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2002 11:00 am
Posts: 4779
Location: building!
Car: Silvia
the important part of getting air fuel ratios correct is knowing the mass of the air and fuel entering the engine.

A Mass Air Flow (MAF) sensor, directly measures the mass of air entering the engine, and with a fixed pressure drop across the fuel injectors, it's easy to calculate the fuel mass being injected (temperature will affect the fuel density, but not enough to be an issue in most cases)

With a Manifold Absolute Pressure (MAP) sensed system, the air mass is calculated based on the air temperature, and the pressure in the inlet manifold, knowing the flow characteristics of the engine.
It does work quite well, but is much less precise in low load situations, and it affected more by changes in weather due to several different sensors being needed to calculate the flow.

A MAP system is also badly affected by changes to the engine's flow characteristics, because it is tuned for one particular setup.
Something as simple as and exhaust or intake change can really change the tune, whereas a MAF system can compensate very well.
A classic example of this is upgrading cams.
On a MAF sensed engine, dropping in a set of cams generally gives a healthy power gain and usually still runs safely without a re-tune.
If you upgrade cams on a MAP engine it generally won't even start without being re tuned.

_________________
The Engine Whisperer - fixer of things


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 04, 2007 3:30 pm 
Offline
T03 Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 10:35 am
Posts: 155
Location: down the rabbit hole
Car: s13 silvia
I have a haltec e8 on my sr20det. (with cams etc)

I have no problems with the tune, the tuning, the stability of the tune, nor have I noticed any of the potential problems discussed in this thread.

I'm not disagreeing with anything said above, just sharing my experience.

Perhaps its a matter of getting things tuned correctly? Now I can't tune a PFC or a haltech, I cant even tune a guitar, so I don't really know, but it does the job pretty damn well from what I can see.

_________________
To err is human, but to really fuck things up you need a computer


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 56 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4

All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group